Tasting (sparkling) wine and brandy too.

My last day in Cape Town, I went with friends wine tasting in and around Stellenbosch.  The day was a scorcher and Marieke and I both were badly sunburned from our weekend escapades.   We jumped from shady spot to shady spot.  I went so far as to wrap my sarong around my legs, they were burning every time the sun touched them.

The wine was delicious.  The brandy tasting not so much, I put it to my lips but it tasted like gasoline!  Though the brandy cocktail Marieke had was scrumptious.  The recipe is below.

It was bittersweet.  Cape Town is a horrible place to have to leave.  I spent every morning I could on the beach, and every evening too.  But all good things must come to an end.  From Cape Town, I flew to Johannesburg for a short layover before continuing on a flight back to the Northern hemisphere.

Leave a Reply

