Thanksgiving in South Africa.

Being so far away from the U.S. this fall made me realize two things. First, the majority of my travels have been in the first nine months of the year. Secondly, I really love American holidays, especially the fall holidays.

Finding a thanksgiving table to share the large holiday meal was thus at the top of my priority list when I arrived in June.  Fortunately, my friend Shayda mentioned early on that this was her priority too.  It turned out that Shayda co-hosted the dinner with her friend, Tah, and they totally delivered.

I was also happy to share the cultural tradition with my friend Margaret, who was visiting from Durban and really enjoyed her first Turkey day.  We spent the morning watching Friends and putting batch after batch of cookies, gingerbread, and biscuits in the oven.  There was a bit of a snafu when my gingerbread cupcakes sunk and refused to set but we covered it all in fresh whipped cream and it became a very convincing gingerbread pudding.

While the day was a bit overcast and rainy, we gathered around a veritable feast of both meats and veggies.  I wasn’t the only veggie and my lentil loaf was a big hit.  Even better, the dessert table was absolutely overwhelming.  There were four pumpkin pies!

Of course, the best part was sitting down with my heavy plate (pumpkin fritter, green bean casserole, grilled eggplant, lentil loaf, salad, mashed potatoes, roasted vegetables, and of course cranberry sauce) and sharing the beautiful meal with friends both new and old.

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

Leave a Reply

