Two combis and a short taxi ride in Lima.

At one point I had a long, interesting, and (maybe) funny post all about my time in Lima.  I typed it up waiting for my LIM-BOG flight and then deleted it by mistake the next day.  Whoops.

Anyhow, I had eight hours in Lima on my way back to Bogota.  I did some quick online research at UIO that told me there was a bus between the airport and downtown.  But, the internet lies and there is no direct bus!

When I asked about getting into the city center at the airport, I was met with a rapid stream of Spanish that ended with taxi.  This happened several times.  People were genuinely confused that I didn’t want to take a taxi.  And I am usually all about taxis when I travel in a new city with all my stuff.  But this city wasn’t exactly new and my stuff was left in storage at LIM.

So there’s no direct bus but there are combis, small vans that shuttle locals up and down the main roads of Lima.  I asked the lady at the info desk to write down what I was looking for and I was on my way.

At this point, I didn’t really know what I was doing but I decided I knew enough to figure it out.

Then, I made friends with locals.

Javier and his friend, John Carlo (pronounced Yawn-Carlo), are Lima natives and Javier decided to adopt me for the day.

It turned into a wickedly amazing day.  Javier was an amazing tour guide and absolutely hilarious.  We made our way into town (two combis and a short taxi ride) and walked around for four hours with Javier reading plaques off walls and pointing out statutes of famous Spaniards who had done horrible things.  He, speaking English (very well) and me answering in Spanish.  Both of us wanted the practice.  No helado or tres leches but I did manage to find a street vendor selling flan.  Mmmm.

After my first visit to Peru, I had only bad things to say about Lima.  It was a big, loud, lonely city that I didn’t want anything to do with.  This time however, I not only made a great friend but I also took a really fun photo of some Mormons in the Plaza de Armas.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

