A made for TV park in Quito.

Last day and Ecuador was playing Colombia in Quito.  To say the city was in a good mood is an understatement.

I started the day with my run, then headed to the Old City.  People were pouring through the street, a sea of festive yellow jerseys.  I got my last Ecuadorian piece of tres leches, and ended up splitting it with a street vendor who weighs people for ten cents.  It was a huge portion and super sweet with some sort of meringue topping–I was happy to share.

The stadium was right down the street from the backpackers, me and another kid went down to see if we could score tickets.  The tickets didn’t work out but we headed over to this super huge park, La Carolina.  This was like a made for TV park.  Games abounded, and it wasn’t just soccer.  Volleyball, basketball, even some cricket.  Heading back downtown, we walked past a BMX course and a huge skate park.  Kinda makes me wish I were sticking around.  Kinda.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

