Cuenca and a sleepless night.

Cuenca is known as a tranquilo city but my night was anything but.  I shared a room with three other travelers, facing one of the main roads in the old city.  Nice patio but big mistake.  Loud roommates, car alarms, kids partying, more car alarms, packs of dogs, and revved engines kept me up all night.  But I still managed to go for my run in the morning.

The historic city is just as beautiful as everyone has said.  I spent most of my day hanging out in the park across from the Cathedral of Immaculate Conception, talking with gringo ex-pats who had little else to do.  The park was also the only place with helado vendors.  So there was a method to the madness.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

