Packing list for Latin America

I had 48hrs before my flight to the DR so I packed.  Packed for Latin America, packed for South Africa, and packed for Alaska.  It was crazy but fun.

This continual pattern of packing, unpacking, and repacking always gives me time to reflect on what is most important in my life.  Each time I go through this process, I find that less is more and create piles of things that will not continue with me.  It is freeing and it is balancing and I still have more than I need.

Still, I can’t help but love packing lists.  I’ve included mine below and hope it’s helpful.  The list is mostly based on experience.  For example, I don’t love wearing jeans on hot weather but I find that most women in Latin America wear (really tight) jeans all the time, so I add them to the pile.  Also, yoga pants are good 24/7.  I can’t imagine leaving home without them.

Packing list

  • On my feet:
    keen H20 newports
    crocs
    minimalist running shoes
    1 pair wool socks
  • On my body:
    minimal intimates
    3 tshirts (cotton, techwick)
    2 techwik tank tops
    2 cotton long sleeve (cotton, wool)
    1 techwik zip up
    1 lightweight down jacket
    3 pair shorts (jeans, synthetic, running)
    2 pair pants (jeans, yoga)
    1 yoga capri
    hanky
  • For sleep
    silk sleep sack
    earplugs and face mask
    sarong
  • Electronics
    camera + charger + memory cards
    mp3 player/reader + headphones + charger
    laptop + charger
  • Other stuff I think is important and don’t travel without
    first aid kit
    spork
    calculator
    toiletries
    flashlight/headlamp
    book to read/trade

Prepare for the unknown by studying how others in the past have coped with the unforeseeable and the unpredictable.
George S. Patton

Leave a Reply

